Uncategorized

The Politics of Injustice: Chains of Compassion

I once blamed my lot in life on circumstances outside myself and why not? I was too lazy, indolent, and thoughtless to want to improve my circumstances by improving myself. Not when I could vote for politicians who told me to blame my life choices on others and vote for them because they would right the INJUSTICE of it all. Oh, the unfairness and inhumanity.  What they did was set me back rather than progressing forward.

The vicious cycle of victimhood pursued me as I pursued it until one day I read this passage from James Allen in The Path to Prosperity and realized with great difficulty, pain, resistance, and embarrassment that I was who I was and where I was because I put myself there and if I put myself there, I can put myself somewhere else – I would just need to be a little more productive, thoughtful, and hard-working.

“Perhaps the chains of poverty hang heavily upon you, and you are friendless and alone, and you long with an intense longing that your load maybe lightened; but the load continues and you seem to be enveloped in an ever-increasing darkness. Perhaps you complain, you bewail your lot; you blame your birth, your parents, you employer, or the Unjust Powers who have bestowed upon you so undeservedly poverty and hardship, upon another affluence and ease.

“Cease your complaining and fretting; none of these things which you blame are the cause of your poverty; the cause is within yourself, and where the cause is, there is the remedy. The very fact that you are a complainer shows that you deserve your lot, shows that you lack faith which is the ground of all effort and progress. There is no room for a complainer in a universe of law, and worry is soul suicide. By your very ATTITUDE of mind you are strengthening the chains which bind you, and are drawing about you the darkness by which you are enveloped.”

How painful is that to know that all along I had the power to create and I was not the Victim but the actually master of my circumstances. I am a more prosperous, joyful, peaceful, and loving individual today by taking responsibility for myself and becoming more thoughtful with my habits, deeds, and character than when I blamed my life circumstances on forces outside myself. And, then I turned my back on Liberalism, the Democrats and Progressives because their lies kept me in chains on purpose. Their lies, manipulation, and deceit empowered them and took my strength away. And, graciously I allowed it to happen.

My twin still calls me a liberal – but labels are so limiting – just ask an Existentialist. I liberated myself from their plantation of bitterness, intolerance, and hate and I am a better person for it. Not a saint – God help me. But, a better person.

Better than what you might ask? Better than being unhappy and wanting everyone else around me to be as miserable as I was. Better than being envious and wanting what other people had and not appreciating the things around me. Better than expecting other people to rescue me. Better than being enslaved in the idea that society was to blame for my pit of poverty and ignorance, so society was responsible for lifting me out of it as I Waited, and Waited, and Waited. Better than being alone, poor, miserable, bitter, angry, resentful, powerless, and a slave to circumstances.

When a person is feeling those things, they are not feeling abundant, joy, thoughtful, gracious, empowered, charitable, and the creator and master of their own destiny. Which of the two feelings do you think the world benefits from the most? When your soul can fly away from its tormentors whose lies and manipulation is disguised as Compassion and Justice – then you are on your way to being a better person – for yourself and the world.

Krishnamurti once wrote, “What you are the world is and without your transformation, there can be no transformation of the world”. If you want world peace, be peaceful. Kindness? Be kind. Charity? Be charitable. Joy? Be joyful. Justice? Be just. Fairness? Be fair. What you reap, you will sow. Your circumstances are a mirror of YOU. Not your society.

 Your circumstances are a mirror to you – to your thoughts, habits, and deeds. You created that. You are the master of your destiny. If you have been convinced otherwise, kick your domestic abuser to the side and liberate yourself from the lies – that society is the cause of your misery and society is responsible for rescuing you from your self-created purgatory.

If you want to change your circumstances, change yourself. If you want to improve your life, improve yourself. Hope and Change does not come from your President, your government, community organizers, city planners – It comes from YOU. Belief and faith is the foundation of all strength and development, it lies at the core of your being. Calmness and peace is our natural state of being. Be it. ‘What you are the world is.’

Break the chains and the lies that the party of Compassion and Justice have been feeding you. Isn’t having joy, purpose, and appreciation much better motivators in improving your life than hate, disbelief, and resentment? Nobody is going to change your circumstances but you and if you keep waiting for society to right the wrong and save you from yourself, you will be waiting in vain forever for your salvation and Justice. You want inner peace? Forgive yourself and others. Forgiveness you are ale to let go of the pain, injury, resentment, and ego. Most people are more comfortable with dealing with the pain than they are learning to forgive and change their way of thinking. Holding on to hate, anger, bitterness, and revenge is nothing but diseases upon the mind, the body, and the spirity. It causes heart disease, cancer, and death.

Try a little meditation. My favorite meditation practice so far has been walking meditation and I have included a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IFvablc6EI

May peace and comfort come to you during your time of transformation. Rise like the Phoenix and burn off the chains that bind you to the belief that you are the victim of your circumstances and that the way to become empowered is to empower Politian’s, political pundits, political activists, and the media.

You are the cause and the remedy. You are the poison and the antidote. You yourself are heaven and you are hell. It is your choice. Free will. Free to choose. Free to be the creator and master of your destiny. What do you want to be today?

How hard are you willing to work to improve your circumstances by improving yourself? Life responds to you, it reveals to you the result of your thoughts and actions – that is Perfect Justice. Compassion comes from forgiving your mistakes and thoughtlessness while forgiving others their selfishness and neglect. Compassion comes when you release anger, resentment, and injury from those who have caused you pain. Move forward in love and compassion so that you will know peace, love, joy, and graciousness. Move away from those that would keep you chained in bitterness, hate, and resentment. They profit and are empowered by your misery.  

 

Leave a Reply

