Uncategorized

Disappointing Hepburn

Hepburn’s Avatar is a writer for a Progressive online magazine who recently confronted me on Twitter. Such bravery abounds in this country. I found it completely ironic that such an unpleasant individual would hide behind such a kind woman like Audrey Hepburn and her avatar, but I believe we are all humanly conflicted and unreconciled in a paradoxial way.

Hepburn’s Avatar accused me of having no self-comprehension based on the fact I acknowledged I am ‘most often Libertarian’ as a way to describe myself in 160 characters or less. Sarcastically, I did tweet about Obama and gas prices which I assume if you feel government is responsible for people’s Hope and Change – government should be held accountable for gas prices as well. Let us try to be a little consistent here.

Everyone has beliefs and approaches life differently. I consider myself an Individualist first and since being a Libertarian closely aligns with individuality, I like being related to it in a way. But, being fully involved and wholly committed to only one political movement seems somewhat conformist from an Existentialist point of view.

I feel I should approach Hepburn’s Avatar cautiously, for I fear for an unhinging, but it must be done.

There are many variances between Libertarians and they can differ by degree and manner. I know it is easier to lump individuals into neat little groups and then generalize and attack them based on personal opinion. Now, in all fairness everyone does it. I am guilty of it myself, but at least I am completely self-aware of this flaw and working towards a remedy.

Self-comprehension is never easy. It takes time, thoughtfulness, patience, energy and tolerance to unravel the mysteries of one’s soul. To have a stranger come a long tell me I do not know myself simply because of her own personal hatred for my politics seems rather irrational and unkind.

It is said that in order to cease the condemnation of others, one must cease to condemn oneself. I do hope Hepburn’s Avatar takes this little tidbit to heart. We approach others how we feel about ourselves and if we are unpleasant in our outward Spirit we are also unpleasant toward our inner Spirit. We are one.  Kum ba yah. Do unto others. May the force be with you.

We have Progressive Libertarians and Conservative Libertarians which may seem a bit paradoxical, but they exist. I am reminded of Existential philosophers Nietzsche and Kierkegaard who ironically would be very disappointed they have been labeled as such.

The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary describes Existentialism as the …

“Individual existence in an unfathomable universe and the plight of the individual who must assume ultimate responsibility for acts of free will without any certain knowledge of what is right or wrong or good or bad.”

Nietzsche is famous for his ‘God is dead’ approach and Kierkegaard for his slant toward the belief that complete faith in God is man’s ultimate achievement. What path one takes toward self-actualization is unique as the journey itself. Like snowflakes that are created under the same conditions but never the same in form or exact destination.

I see Libertarianism as a political movement toward Self in individual accomplishment, self-actualization, self-governance, accountability, and self-awareness. I like that. I believe men and women are made and unmade by themselves and NOT through society or government.

Since Hepburn’s Avatar took such extraordinary exception to my being ‘most often Libertarian’ I will go ahead and assume her belief is fixed more toward government planning, collective living, and envy.

But, I am only speculating and generalizing. I could barely get through the 140 character tweet rants and have no interest in furthering my understanding. Had Hepburn’s Avatar behaved in a more approachable and kindly fashion, I may have taken the time to attend to a few of this person’s written contributions.

Unfortunately, I recognized no intellectual compassion in her deluge of replies and therefore must question if even the Real Audrey Hepburn, who is remembered as being both kind and gentle in manner and form, would have been a little disappointed in her Avatar’s behavior.

As always we must take the time to acknowledge our own emotions and how we feel at any given moment. In knowing that love and hate come from within we have a choice in how we want to feel and how we react. When we entertain thoughts of love, peace and forgiveness we are not entertaining thoughts of hate, intolerance, and anger.

I read that Audrey Hepburn’s favorite poem was “Unending Love” by Rabindranath Tagore. I thought to include this so that we not lose sight of what is ultimately important. Love.

Read in Peace

http://www.allspirit.co.uk/tagore1.html

Leave a Reply

